Second Day Hair

23 Oct

While many are fortunate enough to have second day hair, I am one of those girls who have yet to master the art. I have tried a number of techniques and am always looking for more, but if I want my hair down, it requires a shower.

Technique Number 1: Use a satin pillowcase. This seemed easy enough, so I decided to give it a try. The satin is supposed to reduce the amount of frizz that accumulates during the nighttime. For me, this is false. My curls do not frizz any less. However, this technique has proven successful for many other curly girls, so if you are interested in buying a satin pillowcase, click here.

Picture Found: http://www.shakeyourbeauty.com/tag/shopbedding-satin-pillowcase/

Technique Number 2: The pineapple. Use a scrunchie to put your hair in a high ponytail on top of your head. In the morning, you might need to spritz your hair with some water or a mist for revitalization, but your curls should still be in tact. For me, this is false. Lying down for hopefully eight hours on top of the bottom layer of hair ruins the bottom layer. While that might not seem all that important, when the bottom layer is frizzy and flat, the rest of my hair lays funny. While this technique does not work for me, it does seem to work for girls with tighter hair. Below are pictures of me attempting the pineapple, and on the other hand here is Grace Curreir and Marni Foster’s post on their pineapple success.

Technique Number 3: Plopping. This trick I have never tried successfully. It is very involved, and you have to get it just right. To plop your hair, you bend over, wrap a t-shirt or small towel into your hair, and sleep with your curls setting into the towel. In the morning, you might need a mist to set your curls free again, but they should turn out great. In case you want to try, below is a great diagram from Naturally Curly on how to plop.

Some girls are just lucky. They wake up, maybe put in a spray or some mousse, and they are off. I will never be one of those girls. When you see me walking around all day with my hair pulled back in a ponytail or bun or wrapped up in a scarf, you know that I did not shower and that my second day hair is just not up to par. Even with the up-do, my hair still requires some Deva Curl Mist-er Right and either some Bliss Smoothing Cream or MOMO Moisturizing Anti-Aging Cream. One day I will work up the desire to master plopping, and I will let you know how it goes. But until then, ponytails it is. How do you master your second day hair looks?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

